Minnesota Oncology Laboratory Manager Honored for Professional Excellence

ASCP’s Inaugural “40 Under 40” Program Recognizes Future Generation of Lab Leaders

{image_1}Lexi Hansen, MLS(ASCP), Laboratory Manager for Minnesota Oncology, was recently named to the American Society for Clinical Pathology’s 40 Under 40 Program, which shines the spotlight on 40 pathologists, pathology residents, and laboratory professionals under age 40 who are making significant contributions to the profession. Hansen is the only honoree from Minnesota. The program reflects the extensive and diverse variety of interests, areas of specialty and improvements in healthcare that lab professionals are involved in, ranging from cancer therapy and the genesis of disease, to clinical trial design, genomics and personalized medicine.

“We are inspired by these young professionals who are passionate about the profession, driven to improve healthcare delivery, and doing amazing work for their institutions and beyond,” said Dr. E. Blair Holladay, executive vice president of ASCP. “ASCP’s 40 Under 40 program is an incredible opportunity to recognize these stand-out individuals and give them the support they need to continue achieving greatness and become the next generation of laboratory leaders. It was a difficult task for the committee to select only 40.”

ASCP launched the “40 Under 40” program to recognize and honor young laboratory professionals for their leadership, diverse experience and innovative work within the laboratory environment. Applicants submitted a resume and an essay addressing their interests in lab medicine, the role of laboratory medicine in an evolving healthcare landscape, or the importance of the laboratory in the clinical care team.

“We had an overwhelmingly enthusiastic response to the introduction of the program and such a high caliber of applicants that it made narrowing down the list to just 40 a real challenge,” said Rex F. Famitangco, laboratory administrative director & education director at Morrill County Community Hospital, Bridgeport, Nebrask, who served on the 40 Under 40 Selection Committee. “We are very fortunate to have a highly talented group of younger professionals who are advancing in their careers and will serve as future leaders of our profession.”

Hansen worked in Minnesota Oncology’s Burnsville lab beginning in 2009 and later transferred to the Saint Paul Cancer Center lab where she was the Lead. She then relocated to Worthington, Minnesota, for her husband’s job, where she was the laboratory manager at Sanford Worthington Medical Center. After returning to the Twin Cities area, she worked at Park Nicollet Methodist Hospital as the laboratory supervisor before joining Minnesota Oncology once again as the laboratory manager in January 2014. She has a bachelor of science in clinical laboratory science from South Dakota State University.

ASCP’s 40 Under 40 honorees include:

Caroline Raasch Alquist, MD, PhD – New Orleans
Dana Altenburger, MD FASCP – Bloomington, Ill.
Clinton Borek, MLS(ASCP)CMSBBCM – Marshfield, Wis.
Sara R. Briggs, MS, MLS(ASCP)CMSBBCM – Eau Claire, Wis.
Michelle Brown, MS, MT(ASCP)CMSBBCM – Birmingham, Ala.
Deborah J. Chute, MD FASCP – Cleveland
Jitakshi De, MD FASCP – Palo Alto, Calif.
Ashraf M. Dehlawi, H(ASCP)CM – Tampa, Fla.
Shawn Griggs, MT(ASCP) – Findlay, Ohio
Rama Gullapalli, MD, PhD – Albuquerque, N.M.
Marianne Hamel, MD, PhD FASCP – Woodbine, N.J.
Alexia Hansen, MLS(ASCP)CM – Saint Paul, Minn.
Jennifer Maxine Hawkins, DO – Philadelphia
Rochelle Helminski, MLS(ASCP)CM – Phoenix
Marisa K. James, MLS(ASCP)CM – North Kansas City, Mo.
Joyce D. Jones, MS, MLS(ASCP)CMSMCM – Highland, Ill.
Mary D. Le, MD – Torrance, Calif.
Carlo Ledesma, SH(ASCP)CMMT(ASCPi) – Oklahoma City
Sara E. Monaco, MD FASCP – Pittsburgh
Anna M. Moran, MD FASCP – Philadelphia
Christina Nickel, MHA, MLS(ASCP)CM – Lincoln, Neb.
Sunita Iyengar Park, MD FASCP – Atlanta
Miriam D. Post, MD FASCP – Aurora, Colo.
Deepti Mary Ravi, MBBChBAO (Hons.) (RCSI) (Ire), LRCPI, LRCSI – Hamilton, ON, Canada
Patrick A. Reese, HTL(ASCP)CMQIHC – Boone, N.C.
Daniel Roman, MLS(ASCP)CM – Patrick AFB, Fla.
Gaurav Sharma, MD – Detroit
Shree G. Sharma, MD – Little Rock, Ark.
Mary Beth Sica, MT(ASCP) – Vassalboro, Maine
Jodi Jean Speiser, MD FASCP – Maywood, Ill.
Michelle Spinosa, MLS(ASCP)CM – Kentfield, Calif.
Lee B. Springer, PhD, MLT(ASCP) – Glencoe, Minn.
Rachel L. Stewart, DO – Lexington, Ky.
Eman Talaq, MLS(ASCP)CM – Manama, Bahrain
Amy L. Thompson, PhD, MT(ASCP) – Clarksville, Tenn.
Christopher A. Tormey, MD FASCP – New Haven, Ct.
Sean M. Tucker, MBA, MLS(ASCP)CM – Shawnee Mission, Kan.
Heather Vaught, MLS(ASCP)CM SBBCM – Indianapolis, Ind.
Kimberly A. Whiter, MLS(ASCP)CM – Roanoke, Va.
Sean R. Williamson, MD FASCP – Detroit

The 40 honorees each will have the opportunity to share their knowledge about topics pertinent to pathology and laboratory medicine with a personal blog on ASCP’s ONELab website. Later this summer, ASCP will select the top five bloggers, who will each receive free registration to attend ASCP 2014 Annual Meeting, along with a $1,000 stipend to toward airfare and lodging. In addition, the winners will receive free enrollment in Lab Management University, a collaborative initiative of ASCP and the American Pathology Foundation.

Click here for more information on ASCP’s 40 Under 40 program or read about each of this year’s honorees.




Recent Posts

April 17, 2024

April is Esophageal Cancer Awareness Month, which makes this good time to learn the signs of esophageal cancer and what you can do to reduce your risk.

April 12, 2024

Medical Laboratory Professionals appreciation week is April 14, 2024 - April 20, 2024. Medical laboratory professionals play a crucial role in healthcare by conducting tests on patient samples to help diagnose, treat, and prevent various medical conditions.

April 10, 2024

April is National Head and Neck Cancer Awareness Month. 3 ways to prevent head and neck cancer.